I can find water anywhere!

Mom says if there’s water, I’ll find it. And I did! We went to 1000 acres yesterday for a looooong walk. She said we weren’t going to the Sandy River because I needed to work on “come”. Remember how I went in those people’s pool the other day? Mom hasn’t forgotten either….

There are LOTS of trails out there, so off we went. Mom would say “come” and I came. Sometimes there were too many things to sniff, so I let her wait a while until I finished checking them out. She said I shouldn’t do that–she’s the boss. Yeah, right. Well, I guess she is because she put me on the leash for a while. Bummer. She had to do that a few times, but I was really getting better. I thought so anyhow. And she had some great cheese–it made me want to “come”.

We walked through some woods and then down in the meadow. Toby II and I were having fun! (Did I tell you he and his sister Macy came with us?) We met a lot of dogs and one was playing with a ball. I got to chase after the ball with that dog, but I was good and always came back. See, told you I was getting better!

Toby II & me

After going in the pond

That is, until I smelled water. Did you know I could smell it from far away? That’s because I LOVE water. Mom couldn’t see me and was saying “come”. Do you know, I actually did! I had to show her what I had found. It was a pond that had a little water left in it and there it was! I was so proud! Mom came to see and I showed her. She told me I could find water if it was 1000 miles away. I think she’s silly.

She put me on the leash again–she said I had to learn that I couldn’t just go back to the water if she said I had to go with her. That was OK; I was nice and wet and dirty!

I need a rest too

Macy got overheated and laid down. She didn’t want to get up. Janice (Mom’s friend) was real worried, but she poured water all over Macy and we stayed with her. I stayed too. Macy got up after a while–she said she was feeling a little better. We went home to tell Dad how good I was. He was proud of me!!

I had to have a bath before I could even eat my lunch. I had so much mud on me that the bathtub stopped up! Pretty good, huh? But, somehow that’s not as good as going to the river or the pond…..

I Smell a RAT

I wish I could play with it!

Dad was smarter than the critter! We now have a RAT, but it’s not an ugly one. I wanted to play with it, but Mom said absolutely not. She moved the trap up high so I couldn’t get to it and said Dad had to dispose of it, whatever that means. He said he would.

At least Mom’s compost bin is now safe! Maybe another one will come and I’ll get to play with that one……..