Sniffs & Stares

A couple of days ago, we had probably the only snow we will get this year in Portland this year.

What did you say, Mom?

Watch what I wish for?

What’s that suppose to mean?

Anyway, before I was rudely interrupted, there was this stuff coming out of the sky that looked like big rain drops that were white. Not having seen snow before, I did a lot of sniffing. You have to be careful not to get one of those rain drop thingees in your nose. Not nice…..

And then, there’s the squirrel thing. I’ve tried to stare them out of those trees, but that doesn’t seem to work very well.

Those darn squirrels must be hibernating or something. Or is that what bears do? I just know that they LOVE to tease Toby and me. I wonder what would happen if one got in my mouth? Well, these squirrels would get unstuffed–that’s a fact. But a real squirrel? Not a chance. I think I just have to sniff and stare at them…….

So, I think it’s time for a Blog Hop.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

23 thoughts on “Sniffs & Stares

  1. Vof Sage! Wasn’t it great to smell snow! I have seen also only some drops of snow like you! Squirrels…haven’t met…I would love them like all tiny animals in the garden! Have a great weekend! Hugs from Nero!

    Like

  2. Hi, Sage:

    I’m so glad that I found your blog through the Saturday Blog Hop! Goodness, the winter of 2011 just keep repercussing. When will it end?! Of course, I’m in Texas, so my northern counterparts will probably think I’m a bit of a baby about the cold — and they would be right. 🙂

    I gotta say that staring at squirrels is pretty exciting stuff! When they won’t come down out of the trees for me to chase, I do what you do. Console myself with a pile of faux woodland creatures. 😉

    Can’t wait to read more about your life in Portland!

    -Mayli the Labradane

    Like

  3. Has faith, Sage. You nefur know when a close encounter with the skwerrel kind will happen. Elliot, the dobieman pinscher wot lived here afore me, tried so hard hims whole life to nab a skwerrel. One day mom taked him fur walkies and she feeled something soft and floofy brush on her leg. Elliot woz not soft and floofy so mom looked down to see Elliot had picked up a road kill skwerrel in his mouf wot woz stiff as a board and the tail woz rubbing on mom’s leg. Mom screamed RILLY LOWD and made him DROP IT. She is such a pawty pooper.

    Like

  4. All dogs seem to find snow amazing–even if it’s not a regular sight. I wonder if there’s something about all that white stuff in motion that stimulates them. I’ve never seen a dog respond the same way to rain.

    Glad Sage got to see some snow.

    Like

  5. Sage, you just need to get more time with that snow to fully savor its wonder. Snow up your snooter – that’s great – we even burrow along the snow piles just to get that feeling:)

    As for squirrels – they are evil!!! We have those same stuffed ones as you, that kind is fun.

    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

    Like

  6. Miss Sage, how nice that you got some snow! We didn’t get any here in Keizer, but Mom says it was so cold it felt like there SHOULD be snow! It’s no fun when it’s cold and it rains on us, but running in the snow is tons of funs! Maybe we will still get some after all!

    Barks and Wiggles,

    Jackie

    Like

  7. I don’t have any squirrels here. The red tail hawk got the one that I saw last year. (That’s a big feathered bird, not me.) We get snow in the mountains and I don’t care for it. It hides my toys and turns icy so it’s hard to walk and impossible to run.

    Don’t worry Sage, you’re not missin’ anything. (One dog’s opinion.)

    Thanks for stoppin’,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    Like

  8. Hi! It’s me Buddy, I like the pictures! I really like that first picture. I don’t have squirrels but I have a few rabbits and skunks that pass by. Not allowed to hurt the bunnies and the skunks, phew!!! I keep my distance. Happy Pet Blogging!

    Like

  9. My Zoe was trying to catch a squirrel earlier today. I didn’t think I would ever get her back in the house. I had to send her daddy to get her. Naughty girl. Hope you enjoyed the white stuff. Happy weekend!

    Like

  10. What a thoughtful Saturday you had, Sage. After the snow-rain and dwellings on squirrels, stuffed and real, a blog hop is a great way to cap it all off.

    Mocha Barney, Ashley Pumpernickel and Winniechurchill

    Like

  11. I love that first photo of you in the snow-that-lasted-for-10-minutes, Sage! I was babysitting two dogs who would have absolutely nothing to do with it – they refused to leave the house! So they watched from the porch while my husband and I went out in the backyard and watched the flakes falling!

    -Chandra at Daley’s Dog Years

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

