The Dog Days of…Early Fall

I wanted to say ‘summer’, but Mom told me it was all over. Seems like summer to me!

The rain’s coming in a couple of days, so we high-tailed it out to 1000 Acres. Not for mud-puddles, mind you, but a good romp.

.

.

.

And we saw some of these Wooly Bear Caterpillar things. OK, Mom, I’ll give it to you. It’s fall. I sure thought it was still summer….

.

.

The Corps of Engineers put up this fence recently to keep humans out of the park wetlands. Sure didn’t stop me!  I think the operative word here is…human.

.

.

One leap over

.

.

.

.

.

And another back!

.

.

.

I have this secret mission when I go exploring in the grasses.  If I tell you, you won’t tell anyone?

Shhhhhhhh

It’s to find a ball. And I do! EVERYTIME! Drives Mom nuts, but she says it’s better than mud. Whatever that means….

We walked all the way to the Columbia River this time. Toby II and I had fun playing in a little inlet.If you look waaaaaaaaaay out there, you’ll see the main part of the river.All that ‘beach’ in-between is usually covered with water. I couldn’t even go swimming! Bummer, huh?

At least it was wet.

We skedaddled (don’t you just love that word?) up the hill. Me leading the way.

Don’t say ‘I look good behind bars’, Mom. It’s not nice.

We rounded a bend and this is what I saw!

Biggest creature I’ve EVER seen. And guess who was more skeered?

me

12 thoughts on “The Dog Days of…Early Fall

  1. Oh Sage, if Zoie had had you next door and we could all go on walks like that I’ll bet she would still be here!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So sad!!!

    Like

  2. Wow, Sage, you sure did meet one of the Big Dogs – did he skedaddle away from you? Lightning is the leaper here, he would love to join you in jumping that fence.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    Like

  3. Ha ha ha! Oh, we have those horses that ride through town, right past our house! I just know, if it weren’t for that darned leash, I could take them! Mom and Dad never let me have a shot at them, though.

    Bunny

    Like

  4. What a beautiful leaper you are! Great job of mom to catch you in action like that.

    You looked pretty brave with that over-sized beast there, Sage. I don’t even want to think about how that would have gone down were it Bella instead of you. (This would be why we don’t take her places like that off-leash – it would not end well. 😉 You are a good girl.

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

