Where the Deer & the Longhorns Play

Mom & Dad went far, far away to a land called Texas and left me to take care of the homestead. I did have help, but I couldn’t get help making words on the ‘puter. Instead, I took lots of walks and played with my best furiends. That was FUN.

Now I’m back! I missed everyone….

Mom said I could tell you what they did in this far-away land and, let me tell you, you wouldn’t believe all the critters they saw.

Shotgun & Pistol

.

.

Shotgun and Pistol like to wear camo and live at my 10-year-old nephew’s. He’s going to show them for 4-H.

.

.

.

Deer were everywhere! These are Fallow Deer.Fallow Deer I sure wouldn’t have wanted them to chase me! Especially with all those things stuck to their heads.

Mom said they should have worn camo because it was hunting season, whatever that means….

One day, Mom & Dad went to the LBJ Ranch. He was one of our Presidents way back before I was born and did a lot for education in this country. Some people didn’t like him much because of this war he inherited.

This house was near the ranch and belonged to the Sauer family. One of the women who lived there was midwife when LBJ was born.

Homestead on LBJ RanchHog.

A big ol’ hog lives there now, along with a bunch of chickens and a cow or two. The farm is self-sustaining and feeds all the Park Rangers at the LBJ Ranch.

.

Buffalo

.

And, of course, there’s a buffalo or two. There used to be lots and lots that roamed around in this country. They forgot to wear camo back then and now there aren’t too many left.

.

.

Mom says you can’t go to Texas without having barbecue. My mouth is drooling just looking at it!Texas BBQDexterMy cousin Dexter says he sometimes gets a bite if he looks really, really cute.

Chessie

.

.

.

.

But Cousin Chessie said the laser-eye technique is really effective. I think I’ll try it next time we have BBQ!

.

Oh, and what is Texas without a Longhorn or two? Mom had to look far and wide to find one though, but with the help of her BIL, here you are!Long HornsWhat’s with all these horns in Texas, that’s what I want to know?

Me?

This is what I did.Sage at 1000 Acres

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Where the Deer & the Longhorns Play

  1. Wow, Sage. My grandma and grandpa are from Texas. Grandma is always trying to get me to come visit. I didn’t know about the BBQ. That sounds like something that might appeal to a snorkie palate. Did they bring you any back? Is it always just laying out their like that… easy pickin’s I say! I’m glad you got some mud to play in. Maybe we’ll both go to Texas sometime and eat BBQ together. My tummy is rumbling just thinking about it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Well, at least you got mud, but I would have wanted to butt heads with or herd those goats. The rest of them I’m not so sure!
    My cat know how to do that lazer eye thing…very scary!

    Like

  3. Hey Sage, Jet here.

    Wowee wow wow, lots of horns and need of camo in that Texas place! JJ wore her new pink camo harness/leash this morning!

    Looks like you had a great time in the … uh… SPLASH PARK, yeah, that’s it!

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

