Digging for Dollars

You know how hot I get when I run, run, run and then have to wallow in the nearest mud-puddle? Well, it’s the same when I go to the coast, except there’s no mud. I just race out to the surf and lay down to cool off. Then there’s the problem with what to drink. I was drinking the ocean water even though Mom took lots and lots of fresh water with us. She kept telling me to ‘leave it’ and I think I finally figured out why. (Mom says, if you’re squeamish, don’t read what I did). That’s the weirdest water–you drink it and it comes back up so fast my head spins. Sometimes it was coming out both ends. So, this last time, I didn’t drink the ocean water! Mom was sooooooo proud of me. Instead, I had the best time frolicking in the waves.

Then I had a thought about earning some green papers. Do you remember that some bipeds used to Dial for Dollars? That was way back before I was born, but Mom remembers.  I wanted to take that one step further and Dig for Dollars.

It’s not easy to find a a perfect dollar, but perseverance wins and success was had! 

© sagechronicles.wordpress.comDo you think this’ll get me a whole lot of green papers, Mom?

28 thoughts on “Digging for Dollars

  1. I remember we used to find LIVE sand dollars at the beach when I was really young. We would go out to a sand bar and put our hands in the sand until we felt one. Pretty cool.

    Like

  2. Beautiful Sage…It’s rare to find a perfect dollar…I know what happens when you drink the ocean water…We used to call it “fluming”…Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  3. Probably no green papers but we bet some good lovies from Mom. Those dollars are harder to find than the paper ones. Hope your frolic was furtastic. Purrs and hugs, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Josette

    Like

  4. LOL! I grew up as a puppy on the North Sea coast and can drink salt water all day long with no issues, so can my sister. We always loved watching dogs on vacation have a drink and then a minute later the “runs”. If your system isn’t used to it, it is a bad idea 🙂 Funny thing is that when we moved to the USA and went to the fresh water lake, we did not like to drink the water because it tasted funny to us, it took time to adjust.

    Like

  5. Sage, ocean water is gross! So glad you learned your lesson after the last time. I wonder how many green papers someone will trade you for that sand dollar. It is very pretty.
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

    Like

  6. My Mom has a whole collection of those she found years ago in Santa Cruz CA on Sand Dollar Beach…she has one that is small like a button and then they go up all the way to great big ones..all purrfect…her fave sea shell (peeEss so happy you didn’t drink the salty water this time Sage)

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

