When It’s Hot

I’m always up for the usual things: eating frosty treats; playing in the pool; swimming in the river; going to the beach; laying on a cool spot on the floor. We’ve been hot this week…not as bad as a lot of you, but still hot…and our air conditioning consists of a small window unit in the kitchen. So, Mom bought me a cooling coat.

I'm double-cool here!

I’m double-cool here!

There are a lot of these in different variations–this one is made of reflective material. Once it’s wet (Mom gets it almost dripping wet), it’s nice and cool against my furs. I use this when we go for walks–as soon as the temperature hits 70 degrees F, my tongue is out and I’m draggin’. There’s a piece that goes under my chest that helps keep my tummy cool too–almost as good as a mud puddle!

Mystic’s idea of staying cool is a bit different from mine. 🙂

I may look cool, but I'm not. :)

I may look cool, but I’m not. 🙂

I don’t know what she’s thinking—Mom’s not going to wet her lap quilt!

Heat affects Mom’s garden in different ways too. The tomatoes act like they’re on steroids and are lovin’ it. The cool weather veggies…not so much. Mom has a plant called an Epiphyllum (commonly called a Night-blooming Cereus) that she’s had FOREVER. It actually came from Texas, where they once lived way, way, way before me. It loooooves heat and will actually start blooming here in the summer. The crazy thing about this plant is that the bloom only comes out at night and dies when the sun hits it the next day. I guess that’s how it stays cool! 

We hope everyone is staying cool in some way or another.

21 thoughts on “When It’s Hot

  1. Sweet Sage we have never seen one of those…looks like a great way to stay cool. We don’t think sweet Mystic would care to have her lap quilt wet. She sure looks cute peeking out from under the quilt. That is a gorgeous bloom on the plant. Hugs and nose kisses

    Like

  2. It looks like you and your Mom have got it all figured out how to stay comfortable and enjoy the Summer, Sage. That flower is cool….we have ones that open in the sun and close at night, but never the other way around!
    We have a kiddie pool for the dogs too, but Kobi doesn’t like to swim and he might like that cooling coat for walking too.

    Like

  3. Great ways to stay cool Sage! That plant is so awesome, I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before. We have some flowers in the garden here that are called 4 oclocks. They always seem to bloom around 6pm here.

    Like

  4. Your mom’s Night-blooming Cereus is beautiful! That’s a very popular plant in New Orleans, near where I live. You would think that down here we would have some of those cooling coats, but tis is the first time I’ve very seen one. Stay cool, Sage!

    Like

  5. Stopping by to wish you a Happy 4th and to thank you for your kindness and friendship. That flower is beautiful.

    We want to thank you so very much for your kind words of comfort and friendship after our very sudden loss of Thunder. We are all still very sad, but the support and love from all of our friends from all over the world is helping to heal our broken hearts. We are sure that Thunder Dunder is now in a very happy place and also very thankful to have so many wonderful friends.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, Lightning, and Mom Kathie

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

