The Plant Sniffer

I love going to the nursery with Mom. Plant sniffing is an art and I have become quite adept at picking out just the right ones. Sometimes that’s hard because we have several VERY large trees around our house and sunny spots are limited.  And most nurseries near us cater to lots and lots of sun-loving plants (don’t they know we live in Portland?). So, off we went to find some woodland and native plants. Our first stop was Bosky Dell Natives.Happy me!Let me tell you…I was one happy dog! Trilliums were EVERYWHERE.TrilliumThis is a pretty common variety–Trillium ovatum (Wake Robin). Mom already has two in her woodlands garden, but wanted more. I scented out a perfect one that will complement what she has, but this one (a Trillium kurabayashii) was not for sale. We settled on a lesser variety, but will be on the lookout for this one! Trillium kurabayashii As we checked out the nursery, I found some grasses intermixed in some of the plants–my sniffer was on double-duty!There's some grass!

And I found some deer nesting among some ferns.Nesting deer

They were pretty small deer so I didn’t tarry long at this spot. We ended up adding the trillium, some Miner’s Lettuce and Wild Ginger to our garden. They’re not only purty, but are also edible. I’ll let Mom & Dad try them first. 😀

Our last stop was the Trillium Festival at Tryon State Park where Mom picked up another Trillium variety. We are definitely going back for a hike, so stay tuned! It’ll be soon.

16 thoughts on “The Plant Sniffer

  1. oh fun.. momwithoutpaws took me to a place called Tractor Supply, there was grain to sniff, dog food , all sorts of sniffing. I need to go to a nursery..

    Like

    • No, no, no. It’s “shoppin'” and shoppin’ is good. And to tell you a little secret–Mom got muddy while she was looking at some of those trillium things and I was being good and doing a proper sit/stay. I tried to find her a mud puddle, but it wasn’t to be….

      Like

  2. I love to visit a nursery! I agree with you, with our fabulous noses we could pick the best plants. Sadly my staff picks the plants what are totally uninteresting, no smell, no taste, just a “nice” look. Have a great sunday and I can’t wait to hear more about your hiking adventure.

    Like

  3. I love Trilliums! When we used to hike a lot, we would always look for the first ones to show up in the spring. I don’t know if you can buy them around here, but now I’m going to look. I am always looking for shade loving plants too.

    Like

Comments are the BEST...I can't wait to read yours!

